Making It Work For you – Day 168

I have been meaning to post something for the past two weeks. I vowed I’d get back into blogging once the kids went back to school and normality resumed. However, every time I get the chance to write something, i start to over think it. I ask myself,  Is it such a big deal? Am I that bothered anymore?  Every time I go to write and get something off my chest, the thing I was going to write about just doesn’t seem important anymore. Well it’s  just dawned on me that this is probably a good thing. It shows that I must be dealing with stuff and coping without the need to blog about it every two minutes, right? Well that’s the spin I’m going to put on it.

Well, cravings have been minimal to practically non existence. I still make sure I have plenty of rest. I make sure I don’t get too over tired or hungry as I know these are triggers for me. I always have my emergency chocolate in (just in case) though I have found some frozen Greek style chocolate yogurt which tastes just like chocolate icecream for less than half the calories. I also have my AF beers in, though I don’t seem to drink it as much as I used to.

I much prefer using all my sobriety tools to prevent a craving rather than dealing with a craving. I don’t even know if I need to keep using all my tools but I’m happy, so im going to keep doing what I’m doing.

I’m actually just back from having a great meal out with friends. It was in a pub but that didn’t bother me as my two friends know I don’t drink and the pub does really good grub. We arranged to meet straight from work so we all had our cars anyway, so alcohol was not even on the menu for my friends. Back in the day I would still have crammed in 2 large glasses of wine, even though I would have been over the limit and then polished off a bottle when I got home. <sigh> what a sorry state i used to be in.

Tonight though, I had a fab time, eating and catching up. I even drove home via the shop’s and bought a coffee and slice of cake to take home, ‘cos I could!  Night’s like tonight remind me that being sober rules. You just have to organise a night that works for you.

Good night to you all (11.30pm UK time)

2 thoughts on “Making It Work For you – Day 168

  1. Dear MrsMac,
    So glad to hear you are using sober tools.
    I also love that you are preventing the cravings!
    That is a wonderful insight!
    And that you are finding the good things about being sober!
    Happy Day 168!
    xo
    Wendy

    Like

Leave a comment